Monday, December 31, 2007

Kenyan Election ends in bloodshed

December 31, 2007: GSU patrols and citizens were engaged in running battles in Nairobi since Sunday. BBC the British media service reports that at least 103 persons are dead in post election violence. On December 30, 2007, the Electoral Commission declared Mwai Kibaki winner of December 27's general election plunging the country into chaos after the runner up Orange Democratic Movement declared victory. Kibaki was declared the winner with 47% of the vote ahead of Raila Odinga's 44%. In Parliament, ODM will be the largest political party with nearly 100 MPs compared to Kibaki's PNU and affiliates that have about 75 MPs. Third place finisher's Kalonzo Musyoka's Orange Democratic Movement of Kenya has 18 MPs. The balance of power depends on the final returns from about 20 constituencies. 20 MPs will be nominated a tally that will push ODM's parliamentary contingent to at least 110 MPs. Ethnic violence between the Kikuyu and the Luo has spread across Nairobi the capital and Kisumu, Kenya's inland coastal city and capital of Nyanza province. The Electoral Commission of Kenya headed by former KANU MP Samuel Kivuitu announced results on State TV shortly before the swearing in ceremony at State House Nairobi.

Tuesday, December 18, 2007

DP fields candidate in Samia Bugwe North

DP has fielded a candidate in Samia Bugwe North Constituency bye-election, Mr. Osenda Godffrey Syalo, 31yrs, a Graduate Teacher of MUK, Econ/History. He is the DP District Youth Leader and the District Youth Councillor Busia District Council.He is steadfast, committed and articulate on DP issues.Mr. Osenda is also the Deputy National Organizing Secretary of UYD under the leadership of Mr. Paul Kakande. He has established UYD - Clubs in schools and Colleges in Busia and Mbale districts, where he teaches. As the DP District Youth Leader, he has organized youth elections in Busia District and handed over leadership of UYD to a younger team. UYD is the youth wing of DP in Busia District and the Youth wing of the Party is UYD. All DP youth in the District are solidly united. He is tussling it out for DP,against NRM's Mrs. Mugeni (the ousted MP's wife); FDC's Kevina Wandera, former District cllr and former District Woman MP candidate-2006; Independant John Mulimba, a District Cllr and Independent Bwire Nathern an Asst Commissioner Min. of Gender.

Sunday, December 16, 2007

2007 Round up

Last Bye-Elections held for 2007

FDC's Abdu Katuntu won the Bugweri County Bye-Election. He defeated 5 other candidates including Information Minister Ally M. Kirunda Kivejjinja. In the last 4 by-elections, NRM has won 2 seats (Ntoroko and Kalungu East), UPC has won 1 seat (Oyam South), FDC has won 1 seat (Bugweri). DP came 2nd in Kalungu East and lost by a margin of 900 votes.

DP Secretary General

The position of DP Secretary General may be vacant. DP Secretary General Richard Ottoo early in December tendered his resignation to Party President John Sebaana Kizito. This position is still contentious after Party President John Sebaana Kizito stripped Deputy Secretary General Michael Bayigga of the Acting SG designation.

Kampala City reverting to Central Government

The City of Kampala under a substantive bill yet to be tabled before Parliament will have its borders extended to metro-Kampala including parts of Wakiso district. Kampala will revert to the executive branch with an Executive Director appointed by the Minister of Local Government. In other changes, metro-west areas will be allocated to the new Mengo Municipality representing the historical capital of the Buganda Kingdom. Lubaga Division will be the anchor of the new municipality.