Sunday, December 16, 2007

2007 Round up

Last Bye-Elections held for 2007

FDC's Abdu Katuntu won the Bugweri County Bye-Election. He defeated 5 other candidates including Information Minister Ally M. Kirunda Kivejjinja. In the last 4 by-elections, NRM has won 2 seats (Ntoroko and Kalungu East), UPC has won 1 seat (Oyam South), FDC has won 1 seat (Bugweri). DP came 2nd in Kalungu East and lost by a margin of 900 votes.

DP Secretary General

The position of DP Secretary General may be vacant. DP Secretary General Richard Ottoo early in December tendered his resignation to Party President John Sebaana Kizito. This position is still contentious after Party President John Sebaana Kizito stripped Deputy Secretary General Michael Bayigga of the Acting SG designation.

Kampala City reverting to Central Government

The City of Kampala under a substantive bill yet to be tabled before Parliament will have its borders extended to metro-Kampala including parts of Wakiso district. Kampala will revert to the executive branch with an Executive Director appointed by the Minister of Local Government. In other changes, metro-west areas will be allocated to the new Mengo Municipality representing the historical capital of the Buganda Kingdom. Lubaga Division will be the anchor of the new municipality.

No comments: